Slower, smaller, simpler

Last week a mate of mine bought a new computer and, of course it was faster, bigger and more complicated than mine.

It was amazing to sit down and watch it do things so much quicker than I had seen before, it was incredible to think about the overwhelming capacity it held and it was staggering to watch the way that it dealt with complicated programs and functions.

The trend in computer technology has always been towards “faster, bigger and more complicated” and I have found that much of our lives seem to get on the same bus. My life is faster than it has ever been, things I have to deal with are bigger than ever before and the issues that I have to wrestle with are more complicated than ever.

When a friend gets a new computer I always feel like I want to go out and get one as well but I stopped this week and asked myself the question. Do I need “faster, bigger and more complicated”?

Is this what your life needs or is it possible that something else might be more beneficial?Slower“be still and know that I am God” Psa 46:10Smaller“One thing I have desired of the LORD, that will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the LORD All the days of my life” Psalms 27:4 Simpler“Trust in the LORD with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding” Proverbs 3:5

Leave a Reply

