Renovation rescue

I remember my first attempt at renovating a ceiling. It was in an old house I was renting and the ceiling was in a real mess. The paint was peeling and there were brown water marks and it was generally horrible.

I began by preparing the surface. I had to scrape off all of the flaking paint and get right back to the original plaster ceiling. It took days and days of effort but finally I was ready.

So I went down to the hardware store for some advice on the next step. I expected to have to paint sealer on the roof followed by the paint. But the man behind the counter, who was full of age and experience, assured me that all I needed to do was to use this brand-new “one-coat” paint and I would be fine.

Everything started OK, the paint was white, the ceiling was flat and the result was beautiful. I thought that I was a do-it-yourself master but then things began to go south!

Just as I finished painting the ceiling, the paint began to blister and bubble and I stood looking up in horror as every inch of the ceiling reverted to the state that it was before—that is how the ceiling remained!

Following wrong advice and using the wrong materials will never end up with a good result. Make certain that you choose wisely and build your life with things which have been tried and tested.

“a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who trusts (in Christ) will never be dismayed.” Isaiah 28:16

Leave a Reply

