Life begins at 40!

I found myself smiling as I read through the pile of birthday cards that had covered the entertainment unit in my lounge room. This was one of the “big ones” as I joined the ranks of those who actively claim that “Life begins at 40!”

Originally my birthday list included such things as Botox injections and emergency liposuction but I soon pulled myself together and settled down to enjoy the best wishes and quite a few jokes from my friends.

It is interesting to me to find that many people do not want to celebrate their 40th birthday. This is probably because this birthday is firmly established as the official start of “mid-life” with the average life expectancy for males being 77.4 years and 82.6 years for females. None of us want to think about reaching the “half-way point” in our lives because we know what is coming at the end. So people refuse to have a party, they refuse to celebrate because they feel like they are picking up speed as they head downhill with no brakes.

I don’t feel like this, I don’t regret my age or lament for the loss of youth. In fact, I look forward to the future because there is so much yet to be experienced and so much yet to be done. My life begins today – not because I am 40 but because my life flows from a real relationship with Christ. “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” John 10:10 How do you feel?

Leave a Reply

