A worthwhile addition

The problem arose when they put a Café-bar in my training room. I was working as a trainer for a large retail chain, running back-to-back half hour sessions with different groups of staff. The problem was not with the staff or even the job…the problem was the fact that I would get myself a cup of tea at the start of each of the 15 sessions. Not only was I totally wired on caffeine but the 2 teaspoons of sugar I added to each cup meant that each week I was adding 1.25 kilos of sugar to my diet. This worked out at in excess of 60 kilos a year even allowing 4 weeks annually for a full detoxification process! I stopped adding sugar to my tea; in fact I can’t even drink a cup with sugar added now.

Some things that we add to our lives are a benefit, some things are inherently dangerous and some can seem inconsequential until you add up the cumulative effect.

The Lord suggests a list of good additions…“add to your faith virtue, to virtue knowledge, to knowledge self-control, to self-control perseverance, to perseverance godliness, to godliness brotherly kindness, and to brotherly kindness love. For if these things are yours and abound, you will be neither barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.” 2 Peter 1:5-8

How many sugars do you add to your tea?What are you allowing to be added into your life? Is it time for a change?

Leave a Reply

