Too many keys

I was holding my briefcase and laptop in one hand and juggling my ridiculous key ring in the other. The time had come… I had been carrying them for too long.

As soon as I got to my office I began the interrogation process. Each key was scrutinised as to its purpose and value. House keys…check

Car keys…check

Office keys…check

Garden shed key…check

But when my list of required keys was filled there were still two keys remaining. What was their purpose? Where did they fit?I looked at them; I tried to think about all the possible uses they may hold. I imagined locked doors that were only used once a year, padlocks that had become rusted from lack of use…nothing!I could not remember where these keys fitted. I could not identify their purpose.

Many people feel this way about life. They know that they should fit in somewhere but they just don’t. Most people at sometime in their lives struggle with the question “What on earth am I here for?” and just like the lockless key they travel around, failing to find any meaningful purpose at all.

The Bible reveals that God has a plan and a purpose for every life. He wants to help you find what your purpose is. The answer is not hard or elusive; it is not weird or woolly. God can be known and He has given us the roadmap to locate Him.

Do you know what your purpose is? Do you know why you are here?Do you have the answers?If not…ask someone who does!

Leave a Reply

