Pothole

I saw it coming but I couldn’t do anything about it.  I have travelled the same bike path over 150 times and every time I managed to avoid the large pothole that stretched its way across the full width of the bike lane.  Each day I would swerve around it and keep peddling on my merry way but today was different…as I approached the notorious spot, cars filled all the lanes of the road and I had no choice but to hit the pothole.   The result?  My drink bottle flew off, my tail light fell apart and I skidded to a rough and undignified halt.  I walked back up the bike path to pick up the pieces I had dropped and to my surprise I found a pair of bike riding glasses, another drink bottle and two smashed tail lights.  I was obviously not the first to hit this pothole and I am sure that I will not be the last.   

The Bible says “we all stumble in many things. If anyone does not stumble… he is a perfect man.” (James 3:2)   You cannot avoid stumbling no matter how diligent and careful you are. “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” (Romans 3:23)   

There should be a warning sign to stop people hitting the pothole…this is precisely what the Lord provides. His Word is a warning but He offers more…a solution to our problem.  When we stumble in our lives, He is always there to pick us up.

Leave a Reply

