Glue that holds us together

It happened on Boxing Day when I was eight years old.  I was riding my brand new bike down the street with my brother, not looking where I was going, as I crashed into the back of the black Jaguar at the bottom of the hill.  The first thing to hit the car was my front tyre closely followed by my front teeth which smashed on impact leaving an unattractive ‘v’ which costs me about 30 IQ points. Ever since this fateful day, I have had two porcelain crowns to try to hide my real level of intelligence.  

The problem is that every now and then, one of my crowns works loose and I live in fear of it falling out until I can visit the dentist.  The answer is a simple process, the tooth is cleaned and reglued into position (using the best glue for the task) and I am set for at least another year.   

It is amazing how our lives can change; you can begin a day feeling very secure and by its end you feel like you are flapping in the breeze.  It is surprising some times just how easy it is to become ‘unglued’, especially if you have not used the best materials for the job. It is good from time to time to take and inventory and check what is really going on.

 

So…what is holding your life together?  “But whoever listens to me will dwell safely, and will be secure, without fear of evil.” Proverbs 1:33 

Leave a Reply

