Dehydrator

It looked like bacon, it almost smelt like bacon but it definitely didn’t taste like bacon!   

I am currently training for a 4 day bush walk in
New Zealand and I am preparing my gear and planning my menu.  One of the most important things I have to consider is the weight of my pack and so most of the food I will carry will be dehydrated.  The concept is simple, you prepare a tasty meal you then place it in a dehydrator and after a few hours you have a meal ready to carry along the path with you.  All that is left to do is add some boiling water to the meal, let it stand for ten minutes and, voila, you have breakfast!   This is wonderful in theory but when I tried it yesterday the outcome didn’t taste like bacon, eggs, baked beans and hash browns…it tasted like play dough squashed in the pages of a wet book!
 

Often our lives can feel like they are growing dry; being dehydrated by the heat, the challenges and the complexities we have to face.  We have our weekends and our holidays but sometimes it feels that it is just not enough to give us back what the world has taken out. We don’t need to be re-hydrated we need to be fully restored.   

Jesus offers restoration… “Come to Me, all you who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest… learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:28

Leave a Reply

