Don’t put it off

My afternoon was really crowded and I didn’t know how I was going to get everything done that I needed to get done and then…my appointment cancelled.  Suddenly it was all possible and I would meet the list of deadlines I was facing.  

Some appointments you really look forward to; others you really dread.  Some appointments you can reschedule; others have to happen at the appointed time or else you’ll miss them forever. If you add up all of the appointments you have in a lifetime you will find they fall into different categories.  Some are very important; ones that you would have been sorry to miss.  Some are less significant but you are glad that you were involved.  Others were the most boring waste of time you could imagine and you would rather have been doing anything else! 

But there are two appointments you cannot miss and they are both of utmost importance. The first I want to mention comes at the very end of our personal story…“…it is appointed for men (and women) to die once, but after this comes the judgment,” Hebrews 9:27  You can put off this appointment through being careful and being healthy but you cannot avoid it altogether.  This appointment is coming and how it goes depends on the other appointment that I would urge you to take as soon as possible. “Jesus said “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”                                    John 14:6  Don’t miss the most important appointment of your life…have you scheduled it yet?

Leave a Reply

