Luggage

No matter how hard I try, there is no way that I am going to fit it all in!Every time I travel overseas it is the same story.  There is just too much luggage and not enough space and if I do have enough space I struggle to stay within the 20 kilo limit.  The problem is that I am weighed down with good stuff; gifts and items that are hard to get for the people I am visiting,   toys and books for the kids I know and all of those touristy knick knacks which keep the $2 shops doors open week after week!   

But I have a problem…when I count my camera bag, luggage and all the rest; I have at least twice what I am allowed… I will have to see what will happen when I hit the airport on Monday.  There are two possibilities: either the airline will let me off or I will have to pay the cost myself.   

We all carry baggage around.  We have our thoughts, our memories and the scars of things which we have done wrong or the wrongs that have been done to us.   It is possible to accumulate so much baggage that it begins to weigh us down and brings us to a stand still.  We have a choice to hold onto the baggage or to allow someone to give us a hand.  Jesus said “Come to me all you who are heavy laden and I will give you rest”. It sounds like a great offer! 

Remember, you can’t take your excess baggage to heaven with you!

Leave a Reply

