What time is it?

“Do we turn the clocks forward or back?” 

Twice each year we all face this compelling and challenging question, and last weekend was my opportunity to get it right or make a monumental mistake! 

You guessed it!  I got it wrong. 

The reason I got it wrong was because I had spent a significant period of time explaining State Politics to my son and I had used up all my available brain cells for the day!  When it came to the time to wind the clocks, confusion was inadequate and bewilderment was my only option. 

I tried to answer the challenge; I wanted it lighter in the morning and darker at night…I thought it through, discussed it with my wife, checked on the internet and then made my decision…wrong!

The following morning I woke up at 7.00am only to realise that it was in fact 5.00am and for the rest of the day I was well and truly out of sync!

Knowing the time is an important skill that we usually master in kindergarten but the dials on the clock face are not the only ‘times’ we have to understand.  

Solomon said To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven:”    Ecclesiastes 3:1

Our lives have times and seasons: work opportunities; relationships; working hard; and resting.  If we don’t understand what time it is we tend to make mistakes and mishandle the time we have.  Our Spiritual lives also have an element of ‘timing’ attached, failing to know what the ‘Spiritual Time’ is, will leave you lost and confused. 

 “Behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation.”  2 Corinthians 6:2 

4 thoughts on “What time is it?

Leave a Reply

