Not so ‘smart’ car!

Smart Car

I hired a car last week…well actually, I hired half a car!   

I had the opportunity to choose between the Hyundai Getz or (for $5 a day more) I could have the Mercedes Smart Car!   This sounded like a much better deal; it was probably the Queensland sun that was affecting my ability to make rational decisions!   I

knew I was in for some fun when the guy from the hire place sat in the car and started to tell me the ‘things I needed to know’ in order to drive the car.  All the controls were reversed (not a real issue) and it had a special gear box. Sometimes the car would lock itself (if it got confused) and you could only start it again if you followed a certain ritual.     

It was definitely half a car, it only took up half a car space, it only used half the fuel, it received at least twice as many looks but (to my disappointment) it only got half the respect.  As I looked in my rear view mirror on more than one occasion – I saw people looking, pointing and laughing as my little car passed them by. It was better than walking and it was a bit of fun but it did make me think…  

At times, people may laugh at what they see on the outside but it is what is happening on the inside that should really matter.  Your importance, prestige or self-worth should come from a much better source than a little red car!   

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”   Jeremiah 29:11 

2 thoughts on “Not so ‘smart’ car!

  1. Do not be discouraged. It is a great car and just because some people laugh, doesn’t mean a thing. You will be laughing when you have twice as much cash as them from using less gas in your car.

Leave a Reply

