Hot, Cold or Luke-warm?

At first I didn’t notice and then I had my doubts but as moments became a minute it was clear that the water was growing colder not hotter.  I adjusted the taps again and still the water got colder…one more time and the cold tap was fully off and the hot tap was fully on…still the water got colder. 

I was finally resigned to the fact that something had gone wrong with the hot water tank and I would have to put up with at least one cold shower…it is amazing how motivated you become to save water when the water pouring over you is icy cold! 

Most people really enjoy a hot shower.  I have had many cold showers when I have visited
Asia but knowing you are going to have a cold shower makes it very bearable. But there is nothing endearing about a lukewarm one. 
 

Lukewarm things are not particularly sought after.  People don’t really want lukewarm food or lukewarm coffee they certainly don’t want lukewarm love or passion – some things are made to serve hot.   

The Lord feels the same about how we live…“I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I could wish you were cold or hot. So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.”  (Revelation 3:15-16)   

Don’t settle for a lukewarm life with lukewarm actions and a lukewarm response to God…just like I got my hot water tank fixed make a decision today to be hot or cold – but who really wants a cold shower?

Leave a Reply

