The first step is a doozy!

On the way up things were fine but the trip down was a whole lot quicker!  

My excuse (and I am sticking to it!) is that I usually work on a two sided ladder and I had borrowed one with rungs on one side and nothing on the other.  This was fine whilst I was on the way up but when I stepped over the ladder and started my journey down there was nothing left to do but head towards the floor quicker than I had planned! 

 Don’t worry, the ground broke my fall! 

It is amazing the things that rush through your head in a moment like that…first you think ‘Why am I falling?’ then… ‘This will probably hurt!’ finally… ‘I hope no-one is watching!’ 

The problem with a ladder is of course that if you miss one rung you are probably going to miss them all.  One stumble is enough to cause you a huge problem.   

The Bible says that the same is true when it comes to God’s Laws, “For whoever shall keep the whole law, and yet stumble in one point, he is guilty of all.”   James 2:10   

If we have broken even one of God’s laws, even in the smallest way then it is like we are trying to climb down the wrong side of a ladder… but the good news is that hitting the floor is not the only option!   The Lord Jesus offers forgiveness and help when we find ourselves on the floor. 

All you have to do is allow Him to help you up!

Leave a Reply

