Just a moment

It came at the end of a very long day.  I had been in the traffic for about an hour and a half and just for a moment I let my mind wander. When I came back to myself I realised that I could be too close to the car in front and on applying my brakes, I found out that I was correct.

I bumped the car in front – ever so gently – but we definitely made contact.

So we drove around the corner and we exchanged details and looking at the car I couldn’t really see any marks upon it but the lady whom I hit, felt that she could.  So I now have received a quote for $440 to re-paint her bumper and all because I lost concentration for no more than just a moment.

A moment can make a huge difference: a moment too late and you can miss your bus; a moment too slow and you miss out on a bargain; a moment of hesitation can cause you to miss an opportunity; a moment of anger can make you say something your shouldn’t; a moment of greed can lead you to do something you normally wouldn’t; and a moment of selfishness can leave lasting and devastating effects upon others.

Every one of us has ‘moments’ – none of us are perfect – I am sorry if that is a shock to you.

We have lapses, poor attitudes, bad moods – thankfully not all the time!  But we do.

I hope that these ‘moments’ don’t determine our future and that their negative effects are limited.

It made me think about a promise that the Lord made to us… “For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5

The promise is that He is with us – every moment! He doesn’t suffer from the same malady we all share – He is aware of us at all times.  The old song says it well “His eye is on the sparrow and He watches over me!”

So in the midst of all your ‘moments’ this week, whether you bump your car, say something inappropriate or unkind, or whether you just lose your cool, remember that the Lord’s eye never leaves you, He is on your side to bring you blessing and hope for all you have to face.

Maybe you need a ‘moment’ with Him?

Leave a Reply

