What will you put on?

Superman, Jack Sparrow, Harry Potter, the blue guy from Avatar or… Zorro? 

I had to make a choice; I couldn’t be the only one who didn’t turn up in costume at my Christmas Party.  But there was a problem, I had to drive an hour and a half to get to the venue and I didn’t particularly feel like receiving strange looks and having to explain to a police officer if I happened to be pulled over for a random breath test.

I wanted to be the blue guy from Avatar but I am not tall enough and my abs do not have anywhere near the required definition so I went with Zorro – because, Zorro is cool and after I arrive all I have to do is lose my sword and mask and then I am just another guy in black jeans and a black shirt!

Some people like dressing up for parties, some people really hate it.  For some it is an opportunity to ‘be’ someone else, to experience something elusive, or to touch something that has always been out of their reach.

I know when I was a child, I could put an ice-cream container on my head (empty of course) and I was an astronaut.  I know now that I didn’t look anything like an astronaut but it didn’t matter to me.  The costume gave me confidence and for a moment I became what I believed.

We ‘put on’ a lot of costumes in our lives: We pretend to be confident when we are not; we pretend to be brave when we are afraid; we pretend to understand when we are confused; we take up roles that require us to be stretched; we step up to new challenges; we go beyond who we are now and we become something more.

The Bible actually calls us all to ‘put on’ costumes, we are told to ‘put on the new man’, to put on ‘the armour of light’ to put on ‘tender mercies’ and to ‘put on love’.

So as we rapidly approach this Christmas what costume are you going to ‘put on’? Are you going to get dressed in something that is not real and hides who you really are or are you going for something more authentic?  Just like a garment let’s “put on the Lord Jesus Christ!”                                                                      (Romans 13:14)

Leave a Reply

