The easy way or the hard way?

I had a few hours to spare the other day and so I decided that I would have a go at the last one of my Christmas presents.  My brother knows that I like doing jigsaw puzzles and managed to pick a good one for me.  It didn’t have too many pieces but it did have a certain degree of difficulty that made it interesting.

The puzzle was a picture of a snow covered mountain with only a small amount of vegetation and lots of cloudless blue sky.  That usually would be difficult enough but this puzzle had one more surprise, it was not flat, but when completed, it formed a perfect sphere.

Trying to complete a puzzle when all the pieces look the same is quite laborious, many people may think that it is a waste of time but I find that it is good way to spend an afternoon whilst you are watching something mindless on the TV.

It took quite a while before I made any headway at all but finally I managed to get half a dozen pieces fitting together.  Because the puzzle was a sphere you had to really work on the pieces being tightly interconnected and to achieve this I turned the pieces over.  To my surprise I noticed a unique number printed on the back of each piece and I realised that there was a pattern and therefore, another way of completing this task.

I had a choice, I could continue to try and work out my path one piece at a time or, I could use the information available and get to my destination much sooner.

So, I started working from the inside out and in a very short amount of time had completed the puzzle and I was pretty happy with myself.

I find that different times of my life can be quite complicated and it can take a lot of ‘working out’ to decide what should go where, and what I should do next. As I was doing this puzzle it reminded me that I don’t always have to do things the hard way.  The Lord is happy for me to use my intelligence and to work some things out for myself but He has also left me some pretty good clues if I am willing to look for them.

“My son, keep my words, And treasure my commands within you.”   Proverbs 7:1

The question is, are you trying to work out all the answers to life on your own or are you making the most of the help that the Lord is offering you today?

Leave a Reply

