How do I know that it is you?

“How do I know that it is you? 

What can you send me to prove it?”

I spent an interesting half hour this morning having to prove my identity to a government official.  It wasn’t my fault and it wasn’t their fault but someone else had contacted the department, claimed they had the right to correct information and then changed details to benefit themselves.

It was an intriguing and concerning discussion because even though I knew who I was, (I checked in the mirror this morning) someone else was saying that they were me and now I was the one who had to prove themselves.

It proved not to be a difficult task, I was in my office and I had lots of information right at hand, I had documents dating back 20 years and dealings which correlated precisely with what the department had on file.  So, eventually, it came down to me sending a simple email with my confirmed contact details and all was sorted – I am who I thought I was and I can prove it!

Identity theft is a real problem and my example is only the tip of the iceberg in comparison with how bad it can get. Your identity is a sacred thing and no-one wants to be impersonated or to lose control of who they are or what they stand for.  However, this is not a new problem – Jesus warned us very specifically about it – “Take heed that you not be deceived. For many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am He,’ Therefore do not go after them.” (Luke 21:8)

For lots of different reasons people have tried to skew the message of Christ to their own ends.  Some have gone as far as claiming special connections or new understandings of His teaching, some have added or subtracted from what He has spoken and have left many confused, alienated and antagonistic.

The truth is that the impersonation is never as good as the original but how sad is it when the original is lost from view.

How do you know that I am me?  I can prove it by old documents and the testimony of people who have known me all my life.

What about Christ?

There are documents freely available and plenty who have known Him personally – so please don’t settle for a copy!

Leave a Reply

