An enemy has done this!

I felt that something was going on but I was not sure what it was – I noticed my wife and daughter sharing a private joke but I was left in the dark.

Saturday had been busy so far: a trip to Bunnings; some maintenance around the house; mowing the lawns; generally making myself useful… but then came the customary falling asleep on the lounge in front of the television.

It was a couple of hours before I noticed what had happened – while I was comfortably asleep my loving wife thought that it was a good opportunity to paint the nails of my left hand with glitter nail polish!

Granted, I was dead to the world, she was painting her own nails at the time, and my hand was in the perfect position.  She couldn’t help herself and it was a while before her crime came to light but when it finally was exposed, it was greeted with the laughter that it well and truly deserved.

The moral of the story is – don’t fall asleep before anyone else at my place!

Sometimes when we are sleeping or when our back is turned someone may do something that is an act of harmless (glittery) fun but at other times it may command a greater impact and come with a malicious intent.  We all have had times when we have been spoken against or maybe worse.  We all know that not everyone is on our side all the time and that we can feel the effects of this for a long time to come.

Jesus told a parable about a man sowing the best seed into a field but when the crop grew up it was clear that weeds had been sown in the night to choke the harvest.  “He said to them, ‘An enemy has done this.’”    (Matthew 13:28)

The fact is that not every influence in your life is positive, not every action brings you joy, hope and growth. I hope your life is filled with people who encourage and strengthen you (and perhaps paint your nails when you are least expecting it!) but if there are more ‘weeds’ in your life than you anticipated I would love to remind of, and introduce you to, the ‘Farmer’ who is able to make the most of who you are, no matter how bad the harvest may currently seem.

Leave a Reply

