To many ‘uns’

I realised that I have been a lot of ‘uns’ in the past…

I have been Unwise – 7 years old when I wanted to test how strong the motor of the blender was by holding the blades and pressing the ‘pulse’ button.

I have been Unattractive – when I wore a Hawaiian shirt with a chequered pair of shorts.

I have been Unkind – sending my dog as test pilot into the middle of the river in my cardboard box boat.

I have been Unteachable – when I applied the final coat of varnish to a table 2 hours earlier than the tin suggested because I knew better.

I have been Unwilling – at times to accept my faults and lean on others for help.

I have been Unmerciful – to people who deserved to be given a second chance.

I have been Unapproachable – when I have been tired, frustrated or insecure.

I have been Uneasy – not sure of which way to turn next or which decision to make.

I have been Unqualified – at times for the tasks I have been expected to fulfil.

I have been Unaware – of the pain that I have caused others inadvertently.

I have been Unfair – in the way I have treated people who I didn’t understand.

The truth is that I am aware that I have been Unrighteous, Unworthy, Unsure, Unforgiving, Undesirable, Undecided and Unfit.

That’s a lot of uns! When you look at a list like this I am sure that you will agree with me that it is pretty Unimpressive.  But for all my faults, all my limitations and all of the things that are preceded with ‘un’ in my life…there is one ‘un’ that I am very happy to report cannot ever be said of me – I have never been Unloved!

The Bible says it this way… “The LORD has appeared of old to me, saying: ‘Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you’”.                                                                                                         Jeremiah 31:3

So this week I encourage you no to focus on the  parts of your life that are Unworthy or Unimpressive but be aware of the reality of the fact that you are never Unloved and allow that truth to change the way you look at yourself.

Leave a Reply

