Who would play you?

Who would you choose to play the leading role in a movie that was being made about your life? Would it be Bruce Willis or Hugh Grant?  Would it be Angelina Jolie or Helen Mirren?

What genre would it be? Zac Efron in ‘High School Musical’ or Angela Lansbury in ‘Murder She Wrote’?  Who would choose to direct your movie, would it be a Jerry Bruckheimer ‘Science Fiction Classic’ or a Ron Howard ‘Action Drama’? How about a Nancy Meyers ‘Rom Com’ or a Kevin Costner ‘Apocalyptic Saga’ or maybe a Ridley Scott ‘Epic’ or a Quentin Tarantino ‘Realistic Violence Not Required’ film.

I wonder how Russell Crowe would approach my normal day or how Hugh Jackman would choose to depict the scenes in my life – would he be ‘Wolverine’ or would he sing and dance his all the way through to lunch time?

What would Meryl Streep do if she was you or Emma Stone?  Is your life a comedy or a tragedy at the moment?

Sometimes it would be nice to have someone come in and take control of our life and make choices and orchestrate outcomes that were out of the ordinary but I am not sure that I want to relinquish total control to just anyone…after all some movies do well and others tank completely! Also I don’t think that my kids would respond well to a father that was like ‘Mr Bean’ or Clint Eastwood in one of his more menacing roles.

I know that sometimes I don’t have all the answers and it would be nice to have a ‘Director’ who would give me some tips on where to stand and what to say next but neither do I want to be just an actor playing a role that does not reflect who I really am.  What I need is a balance and I am happy to have found this in my relationship with the Lord.

The Bible says that “A man’s heart plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps.”  Prov 16:9

So this is the best of both worlds, I am responsible for the decisions I take but the Lord has a part to play because I welcome it and allow His beneficial influence.   Maybe this is just what you need – a little more direction – ask Him – I know He is available to help!

Leave a Reply

