I think that I have been converted!

I think that I have been converted!

Usually if I am given the choice I will select an aisle seat but during the last couple of weeks I have had to make several flights and someone else made the bookings for me.  It was no big deal to be next to the window, in fact it had been several years since I had and I found that it definitely had some benefits.

Firstly, you don’t have to move out of your seat just because someone else in your row wants to get up or sit down; Secondly, if you fall asleep your knee doesn’t get smashed into by the refreshments trolley; Thirdly, you do get a great view on takeoff and landing…so I think from now on I know what to choose.

My last flight had me travelling south from Brisbane and as we made our descent we passed directly over the area near my home. I could see all of the National Park laid out before me.  I could see the main roads, the small suburbs, the large suburbs and the continuing sprawl heading towards the city. 

As we drew closer to the ground we turned towards the left and my house, the surrounding streets and the whole neighbourhood was perfectly framed in my window.  It was quite a picture (which I captured on my phone) and I thought about how differently things look from high above the ground.

When you look at buildings or large trees or mountains they look very imposing when you are standing beneath them but from the air your perspective changes.  From above you see the bigger picture; you see that the largeness of objects reduces when compared with the greater vista.  On the ground it is easy to get lost in the midst of a tall forest or lose your way in the confusion of a city but from above you can make sense of the scenery and you can easily find your way.

Sometimes our lives are challenging because we are dwarfed by our problems and confused by which way to turn.  Perhaps what we need is a better perspective and a clearer understanding of what is going on.

Jesus said… “You are from beneath; I am from above. You are of this world; I am not of this world.”  (John 8:23)

Remember He is sitting in the window seat, why wouldn’t you ask Him for direction and help?

Leave a Reply

