Find out for yourself…

I don’t pay a lot of attention to reviews, I don’t like to know too much about the movie I am about to see – the reason I don’t listen to reviews is that the reviewers seem to get it wrong a lot of the time – but not always.

I went to the movies last night with my family and we watched a film that I expected to be pretty good.  The reviewers had said things like…It was a dull, ploddingly paced exercise in sentimental sci-fi…It was filled with an eerie dreamy stillness…it was the worst movie I have ever seen… unfortunately, this time, they were pretty right.

The truth is that we all have different tastes in movies and what suits one person will often not suit someone else. We are surprised when someone raves about a movie that we found boring or too far-fetched and yet we are shocked when they express disdain regarding a film that we would happily define as “a classic”.

When we hear a negative review it tends to colour our thinking, we are less likely to be interested in a movie that has been eviscerated in print.  Many would not invest the time or money in seeing something that others have condemned or ‘written off’ as a flop.

The problem here is that the critic is not always right – yesterday they were – but tomorrow they may not be.

If I listen to critics all my life I will miss out on those unique or tailor-made films that suit me down to the ground.  I will allow someone else’s bad experience to rob me of my own.

Many people have allowed other people’s ‘reviews’ to colour their thinking regarding Christianity and their personal search for God.  Because someone else has reported a failure of an individual or a Church they have allowed that review to ‘close the door’ on their own personal experience and I believe that they are missing out.  Just like your taste in movies is an individual thing so too should your experience of God be.  So don’t be content with someone else’s review, don’t miss out on what so many have found to be beneficial, adding joy to their lives.  The Bible encourages us…

“Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good!”   Psalms 34:8

Don’t base your decision on someone else’s review – find out for yourself!

Leave a Reply

