Ask, seek & knock…

I was standing in the line at the post office the other day getting ready to send a parcel home when I overheard a lady asking if there was a Justice of Peace available to sign some documents.  The attendant behind the desk said that they did not have a JP and that she had no idea where one was available.  I noticed the body language of the lady who had made the request; she was carrying a small child and had another in a stroller which had numerous carry bags of shopping attached.  She had been looking for a JP for a couple of hours and was obviously getting a little frazzled.

I quickly paid for my stamps and then approached her letting her know that I was a JP and was happy to help her out.

She was really appreciative and was a bit surprised that I would make what I considered a simple effort given that I had the skills she was looking for.  The documents were signed and she was on her way – relieved and a bit calmer.

It felt good to be able to have the ability that was needed at the time.  It was really only the smallest effort but it actually made a difference.

We all possess abilities which can make a difference to others if we would just be willing to utilise them.  We have resources, skills and abilities which can contribute in significant ways if we would just keep our eyes open and be ready to lend a hand.

But that being said – the truth is that we still lack so much and I know that I don’t always have the abilities, resources or capacity to help those I come across or to fix the problems they are facing.  If it was up to me to make a difference then more often than not the individual would be no better off.

This is why I am glad that there is someone else standing in the line waiting…He has all ability, all knowledge and is always available to help.  The truth is that He is always willing and ready to assist me (and you) in our daily lives.  His name is Jesus and He is better than a Justice of the Peace – He is the Prince of Peace.

“So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.”    Luke 11:9

Leave a Reply

