Working for two bosses…

I spent the last three weeks working for two different bosses.  Both had exactly the same authority and experience, both had similar tasks to fulfil within their organisations and both had equal say over what I was doing and where I was going.  It was an interesting challenge as I had to balance just which need was greater and focus the right time on the right job.  It was also interesting to watch both of my bosses negotiate the intricacies of just who could draw upon me at any given moment.  Whilst everything worked out OK in the end it was really apparent that this would be an extremely unsatisfactory arrangement if it was to happen all the time.

I am sure that the added pressure of not knowing exactly where I stand and the feeling of being constantly pulled in different directions would add to my stress level and probably make the circumstance unworkable in the long term.

Also my bosses would finally get frustrated with me not being able to respond immediately and fully to their requests and would probably look for someone who was not “torn between the two”.

 

When you think about the ‘bosses’ in your life what comes to mind?  Who or what is in control of you and the decisions you make?

Whose voice has the greatest influence and whose ‘tune’ do you ‘dance’ to?

Think beyond your career and into your private life: what determines the individual that you are?

What or who are you working for?

 

The Bible says that “No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.”                                          Luke 16:13

 

In the same way I felt the pressure of working for more than one boss so there is a tension when more than one influence is allowed to take control.  We are all free to choose what we will do with our lives but we are not always wise in the choices we make.

When you think about who or what is in control ask yourself this… “Do they deserve my devotion and have my best interests at heart?”

If not it is time to get a new master – The Lord who always cares for you!   

Leave a Reply

