Attention – turbulence ahead!

“Do not be embarrassed by this precaution as even veteran travellers are subject to occasional motion sickness…” 

I knew that I was in for a rough flight when they started handing out travel-calm tablets and air sickness bags.  I tried to prepare myself for what I was about to experience by reading the instructions on the ‘Motion Sickness Bag’ but it didn’t make me feel any better.  Another thing which didn’t make me feel better was the fact that there were no seats in the C-130 Hercules that the 55 of us had just boarded.

I was given something else just before boarding…it was called a ‘strop’ and it attached to a metal loop on my webbing belt.  It had a carabineer like clasp which I had to hook onto an eyelet on the floor of the aircraft and this was to act as my anchor point.  The ‘strop’ was about 50cm long and was slightly elasticised.

The reason the flight was going to be rough was the fact that we were going to be travelling from Rockhampton to Townsville (730km) at an altitude of 150 – 200 feet.  It is called MOTEF or ‘Map of the earth flying’ and it was quite spectacular!

The flight lasted almost 2 hours and in the rougher moments our ‘strops’ came in handy as they stopped us moving around too much and crashing into each other.  It was by far the roughest flight I have ever been on and at moments I thought that I was going to give into the constant motion and the churning it was producing but I managed to keep it together.

I was so glad when the wheels finally touched down and I was even happier eventually to step off the plane but it did take a good few hours before I felt normal again.

Some times our lives are plain sailing with little or no turmoil or turbulence – other times you can get so buffeted that you feel like you need an air sickness bag.

It is in these times that I am glad that there is a ‘strop’ available that can help me with the task.  It is the ‘Hope’ that comes from knowing that Christ is with us whenever we call.

“This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast..” Hebrews 6:19

Do you have a ‘strop’ for your soul or are you hoping that things don’t get too rough?

Maybe it is time to get connected?

Leave a Reply

