My belt is stuck!

I am currently travelling in the Philippines with my son as part of ‘Operation Hope’ which is the Humanitarian Mission arm of our church.

We are conducting conferences, feeding programs and medical clinics to assist severely impoverished people and to make a difference.

When I am overseas I like to try and buy at least one item which is locally produced as a memento of each trip. This year I decided that I was going to buy myself a new black leather belt.

This belt was special, it had a classy sliver belt clasp and beautifully finished leather but what made it stand out was the way the belt buckle operated.  This was not your ordinary belt with holes for various size waists but one with a ratchet-like mechanism which you simply inserted and tightened to the desired size.

As soon as I got back to our accommodation I unwrapped the belt and had a closer inspection.  I was even more pleased with my purchase when I got home and so I took the opportunity to try it on.  I slipped the belt around my waist and clicked the mechanism into action; it was just like operating a cable tie or a pair of handcuffs.

I kept clicking the belt tighter until I was comfortable and then I gave it just one more ‘click’ for good measure.

It was at this point that I should mention I was standing in just my underwear at the time with a new back shiny belt that was just one click too tight!  It was also at this point that I realised the release mechanism was stuck and didn’t operate properly!

So I stood there, getting slightly claustrophobic and trying without success to release my growing discomfort (the more I laughed, the tighter the belt felt!).  I thought about cutting the belt off but first I thought I would enlist the help of my son who reluctantly helped this strange man who was wearing nothing but undies and a belt out of his predicament.

After a few failed attempts and more laughing the belt mechanism eventually released and I was free and believe me, both of us were relieved!

 

Freedom is something we take for granted until it is removed from us but sometimes our lives become constricted and limited and we need help to escape.,, never forget that Jesus offers you  freedom…  “Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.”                  John 8:36

Leave a Reply

