What is the ‘one thing’?

I have had one of those weeks where it seems that every time my phone rings or every time I open my email there is another job I have to do.

Like most people, I have no problem filling up my available time with various activities, responsibilities and even hobbies…but this week seemed to be the collection point of every task or possible commitment I have made over the last 6 months.

For instance I have been invited to attend at least 7 different events next Saturday (including a charity motorcycle ride and a fancy Army Ball) and I have had to say no to all of them because we are attending my Mother-in-law’s 70th birthday.  Insert Mother-in-law joke here…

When I find myself in busy times like this I have to be very careful not to become overwhelmed or to make the mistake of focussing upon the wrong thing at the wrong time.  I am a ‘list’ guy and I find if I write down everything I have to get done I can then start to prioritise the order in which I do them.  Then the only challenge is doing the thing I am meant to be doing and not getting side tracked just on the stuff I like to do!

What are the things that distract you the most?  Is it food, television, your latest gadget or the 74th level of Angry Birds that you have set as a ‘life goal’ to master?

I find that there are times when there is one thing and one thing only that I must focus upon.  If I don’t give that thing the attention that it needs then I will fail to achieve the task or fail to deliver what I have committed to.

At different times it will be a different thing and over the course of a day it may in fact be several ‘one things’ that I need to focus on in turn.

 

So what is the ‘one thing’ that you have to focus upon today?  Make sure that you have included all of the important things on your list and remember the spiritual dynamic of your life should never be ignored.

“I do not count myself to have arrived yet; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind I reach forward to those things which are ahead, I keep pressing toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14

Leave a Reply

