Christmas…a time to ponder

When you look back at this year, what do you remember?  Has it been a good one or…?

Have you achieved all you wanted to or have you reached the end of December only to find your head spinning as you wonder just where the year has gone?

When I approach Christmas I tend to become more reflective as I think about the experiences that have happened to me and the things I have seen.

I think about all the trips I have been on, the multitude of conversations I have had, the hundreds of movies I’ve watched, the thousand plus meals that I have eaten, and the countless moments I have spent with my wife and kids.

I think about the funny experiences I have had, the times when texting LOL didn’t cut it and I have actually laughed out loud.  I think about the times when I have sat with someone who has cried because part of their world has come crashing down and is sitting in pieces on the floor in front of them.

Every year when I come to Christmas I re-visit the Christmas story.  I have several services to plan and a number of other events where I am asked to share a thought or two.  But I am always amazed at just how Christmas still has the ability to speak to me no matter how often I look at it: the message of the Angel; the frightened shepherds; the faithful & reliable step-father; the wise men prepared to travel vast distances; and the beautiful mother and child.

The carol says, ‘light and life to all He brings’, what a timeless message of hope that really is!

Christmas is meant to be a time of ‘pondering’: thinking about what has been and what is yet to come.

Mary did precisely this on the first Christmas…

“But Mary kept all these things and pondered them in her heart”   Luke 2:19

So as you finish the year surrounded by presents, tinsel and far too much Christmas food I hope that you will take sometime to ponder.

I hope you visit the manger not only in a Christmas card or at a Nativity play but in your own heart.

Because of Christmas we all have hope, because of Christmas we all have light, because of Christmas we all have life.

Never let it become just another holiday.

May the Lord bless you and your family this Christmas!

Leave a Reply

