Read the signs!

It was not the way I planned my evening to end but it was my own fault and no-one else could be blamed…

We were standing on the street corner in Castle Hill just approaching midnight, waiting for my son to come and rescue us after finding my car locked in the car park just near the movies where we had spent the evening.

When I drove in, I chose the nearest entry and slid into the easiest parking space available.  My wife did ask me at the time if I was happy with where I parked and I confidently said something along the lines of ‘It will be fine!”

I note with admiration that later in the evening she suppressed the urge to repeatedly say “I told you so!” 

We enjoyed the movie, slowly walked backed to where I had parked only to find a huge locked roller door.  Next to the door was a large sign which read “Car Park closes at 11.00pm”  there was also a comment which said that if you wanted the door raised out of hours it would incur a cost of $300.  So…I called my son… thankfully he could help me out.

 

Unread or unheeded warnings do not make them invalid or ineffective. When you do something that is clearly wrong, ignoring the warnings does not improve your position.  Laws are in place to maintain order and provide structure to what would be chaos if we just let everyone do what they wanted.  Rules (whilst we may not always agree with them) are generally in place for a reason and ignoring them brings consequences.

The large easy opening to the car park seemed like a good idea at the time but the cost of not reading the warning sign was an hour waiting in the dark and then a second trip the next day to retrieve the car.

So my encouragement to you this week is to be aware of the signs and to carefully choose the doors you walk through.  Just because it is comfortable doesn’t make it right and just because it looks easy doesn’t mean it will have the best outcome.

“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.”   Matthew 7:13

Leave a Reply

