How much life is in your life?

In the next few days I reach a milestone in my life which some find traumatic and others find liberating.  I am about to join the club of those who have a 5 at the front of their age rather than the 4 I have been enjoying for the last decade.

Over the last few weeks people have said some interesting things to me regarding my up coming birthday.  Many have said – “50 is the new 40” or “50 is only just getting started” – I also note that most of these people are already over 50 and may be having themselves on.

From those under 50 years old I have received a few sad and  commiserating looks and reflections which include statements like “50 is not that old!” or “Wow…50…” and they just leave that hanging in the air.

The truth is that at 50, I can no longer consider myself to be ‘young’ but I certainly don’t feel ‘old’.  I feel like I have reached a comfortable middle ground where I am old enough to be taken seriously but young enough to still make an impact.   It is said that ‘you are only as old as you feel’ – if that is true then I fluctuate from 18 some mornings through to about 102.

Statistics reveal that life expectancy in Australia has risen to 81.85 years for all Australians… this means that more and more people are living past their 100th birthday and enjoying life for longer than ever before – the problem is that I meet 30, 40 and 50 year olds who are already tired of life and who look like they are ready to ‘pack it in’.

I think the answer lies not in how long you have lived but how much ‘life’ is in your life.

Jesus said “the thief comes to steal but I have come that you may have life and that you may have it more abundantly”  (John 10:10)

For me it feels like I have more life than ever before, it doesn’t matter which side of the half way line you find yourself on, what matters is that you have something within that is urging you forward and making your life worth living.

So for the over 50’s and the under 50’s would you do me a favour during my birthday week…have a look at your life and ask yourself “is it as abundant as it could be?” if not, you know where the answer lies!

Leave a Reply

