Nothing to pay!

It was that time again and I was going through the pile of bills that had accumulated over the last two weeks on the side of my desk.  Nothing out of the ordinary: school excursions; credit card; electricity; and phone bills.  I wish they would not insist on sending me a bill each month – I would be so much better off!

As I worked through the bills I came across an Optus account for a mobile phone we had switched over around three months ago.  I was surprised to see the envelope as I was certain that I had paid the account in full.

I opened the envelope, discarded the advertising inclusions and unfolded the bill to find that it was an account for a total of $0.00.

I read the account carefully to make sure that I hadn’t missed something but there was absolutely nothing to pay.

However, it was very interesting to note that there was a due date for that payment.

I’ve paid many bills in the past; some have been for large amounts that make your hands tremble; others have been for fiddling little sums which don’t qualify for the minimum-$10-or-you-have-to-pay-additional-charges fee.  But in all the time I have been paying bills I have never received a bill for $0.00.  How do you go about paying such a bill?  If I don’t pay it will I get a reminder next month?  Maybe with interest?  What is 10% of nothing or is that too philosophical for this discussion?

The truth is that the bill was $0.00 because payment had already been made – in this instance it was I who made the payment and the crazy truth is that this invoice should have been automatically stopped by the system but it did give me food for thought.

As we enter into the Easter season it stands as a great reminder of a bill that has been paid on your behalf.  Each one of us had incurred a debt for the wrongs we have done at a price we could never afford.  Jesus willingly paid that price in full so that our account could be wiped clean.

“When you were dead in your sins… God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having cancelled the written code that was against us; he took it away, nailing it to the cross”                                    Colossians 2:13

That is the $0.00 account you can have – all you have to do is apply!

Leave a Reply

