Wake up!

The sound of a waterfall doesn’t work, bird noises have no effect whatsoever, gentle music makes the situation worse so I have had to settle for a piercing tone that will cut through my consciousness and force me to wake up.

Most of the time I don’t use an alarm clock in order to rise – more often than not my body clock knows when it is time to be upright – but once or twice a week my schedule can change and I need to wake at an uncomfortable hour in order to make an early flight or to deal with Sydney traffic so that I can get to an early meeting.

I am sure that you have had the same experience that I have when you have chosen the wrong alarm tone.  I once tried bird noises but ended up just rolling over thinking that the outside of my house was being attacked.  Waterfall sounds were slightly more effective but only because they made me uncomfortable because I needed to go to the toilet.  Gentle music lulled me into a deeper sleep and I was almost 30 mins late. I tried waking up to faster and louder music but my dreams took me into the middle of an action adventure sequence which ended badly and I was still running late.  So I have had to settle for a ‘claxon’ like sound which is both uncomfortable and unmistakable.  The outcome is that whenever the alarm goes off my heart jumps a beat, I sit up wildly in bed and fumble to switch it off – but the desired effect is achieved in that I am awake when I need to be.

There are other times in my life when I need to wake up but there is not an alarm clock to achieve the task – sometimes I need to wake up to the relationships I am in – sometimes I need to wake up to the hurt that I have caused others – sometimes I need to wake up to the fact that I need to rest and look after myself – sometimes I need to wake up to the fact that there is something new to learn or something I need to experience or change.

I wonder what you may need to wake up to – perhaps it is personal, emotional or spiritual?

I hope that you do not stay asleep to it all day! The Lord is speaking to you today…

“Awake, you who sleep,

Arise from the dead,

And Christ will give you light.”

Ephesians 5:14

Leave a Reply

