A shard of glass…

I was summoned to the kitchen with a request for a little help.  My wife had her foot up on the bench (an effort I wish I was able to accomplish!) and was looking at it trying to work out why she was in pain.  On closer examination there was a tiny shard of glass that had lodged itself in the ball of her foot.  I could only just see it and it was only when I changed my angle of view that the light reflected off of it and made it clear.  I took a pair of tweezers and carefully removed the glass and we were all good to go.

The reason for the current minor injury was something that happened the night before – as I was making a cup of tea I knocked a wine glass off of the bench and onto the floor.  All the pieces were picked up (so I thought) and the kitchen was thoroughly swept (so I thought) and all potential for injury was removed (so I thought).

The problem was that shattering glass, especially fine glass travels an astonishing distance and it is very difficult to identify all of the fragments or remove all the risks of future injury.  Bare feet are very adept at finding the glass that the broom or even the vacuum will tend to miss.

As stated, this was not a serious injury – but minor or not, it points out a strong reality that we all have to live with.  Many things which happen in our lives cause a sense or a reality of ‘shattering’ – relationships change, hopes and dreams are unrealised, options are removed or people let you down.  You do your best to recover and ‘clean up’ after these experiences but often, down the line, we will find a splinter or a shard which reminds us of the residual pain we carry.

Although my wife was able to get her leg up on the bench she needed assistance to remove her pain – knowing you have a problem is one thing, asking the right person for help is another.  Over the last 3 and a half decades I have found one who is willing to heal all my pain and is able to remove splinters both small and large.

Perhaps you are in need of His help today?

 “Heal me, O LORD, and I shall be healed; Save me, and I shall be saved”  Jeremiah 17:14

Leave a Reply

