Are you in the dark?

Everything was normal but then everything went dark… I was not hit on the head, I had not passed out because of a virus, I had not been abducted with a hessian sack forced over my eyes but I was in the dark.

I was riding my motorcycle at 10 o’clock at night and had just left the freeway near my home when the headlights on my motor bike flickered for a moment and then went out altogether.

It was a moonless night and it was incredibly dark. Quickly looking behind me I realised that all of my lights had failed – my tail light and brake lights were not working either – total darkness and I was wearing a black leather jacket, a black pair of pants, black shoes, black socks, black gloves and a black helmet.

I only had a short distance to travel home but it was a really freaky trip – I felt vulnerable and aware that I was exposed to far greater danger than if I had my lights on. I had to think about where I was and the fact that no-one else could see me at all. I wasn’t lost but it made the trip, that I had travelled hundreds of times before, very different indeed.

Whenever I saw a car coming I made sure that I got completely off of the road and out of the way. Only when the road was clear did I venture to move the next hundred metres. Eventually I limped back to the main road where the street lights were ablaze and I was able to make the last leg home. But when I finally got off my bike I was exhausted and my heart was racing and I hope that I never find myself in that situation again.

Light is one of those things that we take for granted – it is only at time like when we have a blackout that we really notice the dark.

When you find yourself surrounded by darkness that you have no control over, it certainly makes an impact on the way we think and feel.

The truth is that there is more than one ‘darkness’ that affects this life.

“Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”                                 John 8:12

So the question is “Are your spiritual lights on or off?”

Leave a Reply

