Are you plugged in?

I looked at the wall of power adapters but I wasn’t sure which one I needed…

I am in the process of setting up my new computer and I have had to purchase a few accessories to ensure that I am connected wherever I want to work. The problem is if you choose the wrong adapter it will either not work at all or it will damage your expensive equipment – worse than that, there has even been an incident recently where someone was electrocuted because of an incorrectly wired accessory.

As I was reading the boxes which contained the adapters an ‘expert’ came over to assist me. He asked me a couple of questions and without hesitation he handed me the adapter I needed. His certainty and experience gave me confidence that I now had all I needed and was ready to go. When I got back to my office and plugged everything in I was not surprised and I was not disappointed because everything worked just as it was supposed to.

I remember an experience I had a number of years ago as I held a position in a company that included a certain amount of ‘technical support’ to the offices I worked in. I received a call complaining that none of the computers would turn on and no matter what I suggested over the phone nothing made a difference. I made the short trip to the branch in question and sure enough none of the computers would turn on. I traced the issue back to a power-board, which was plugged into an extension cord, which was plugged into another extension cord and was then plugged back into the first power-board!

It was almost a perfect circle but at no point was it plugged into the wall socket – the cleaner had unplugged the system the night before and someone had plugged it in the wrong way at the start of the day.

Everyday we need many things in order to survive – we need water, shelter, food and family but we also desperately need strength – not strength to fight a war, or strength to win an argument, but strength to face the challenges that each day brings. Unless we are connected to the correct power source then we will find ourselves depleted and unable to live effectively.

I am glad that I have found the most reliable power source and I hope you have too.

“He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength.”

Isaiah 40:29

Leave a Reply

