A rude awakening

To say that it was a rude awakening would be the understatement of the week!

Last Monday morning I woke up a little later than usual after a busy weekend. At least it felt like a little later than usual but I couldn’t be sure…my alarm clock was not being helpful at all, in fact it was more than a little confused. The time read 0N:78 and occasionally was flashing. I worked out that it was actually 07:15 and I had slept about an hour later than normal, it was not a problem at all because it was my day off…I was just happy that it happened on a Monday.

After resetting the clock it became apparent that the problem was no minor one and I would need to purchase a replacement so I put it on my agenda for later that day. I found the clock I wanted, I set it up, worked out enough of the buttons to set the date, time and alarm and then left it to do its job.

The before bed I set my alarm ready for early the next morning and went to sleep confident that everything was in control…

Well before the dawn at my scheduled time of waking, the gentle buzzing of my new clock woke me and I quickly rolled over to hit the ‘reset’ button – the only problem was that instead of hitting ‘reset’ I hit ‘radio’ which was the button right next to it. Suddenly the room was filled with the sound of music at full volume – the more I fumbled with the clock the worse it seemed to get, I couldn’t read the names on the buttons because I couldn’t find my glasses, I tried to move one dial but all it did was change stations, I changed another switch and I was now enjoying talk-back radio – eventually after about 40 seconds I found the ‘off’ button and the room fell back into calm.   My heart rate was racing and I did not feel at all ready for the day – all my wife could say was “That was very loud!”

How we wake up does have an impact on our day but if we sleep too long then chaos can be the outcome.

The Bible says, “that now it is high time to awake out of sleep; for now our salvation is nearer than when we first believed.” Rom 13:11 My question for you today is are you awake?

Not just physically but spiritually as well?

If not, then I have a clock you can borrow!

Leave a Reply

