Long Range Communications

“Hi mate, its Michael, how are you doing?”

It took me about 15 seconds to realise who was on the other end of the phone line. The voice was familiar but I wasn’t expecting the call, the other thing that threw me off was the fact that the reception was just so clear. Michael was calling from literally the other side of the world but it sounded like he was in the room next door.

I was watching the news yesterday and they crossed to Melbourne for a report and there was at least a 3 second pause between sentences – now here I was, talking to a friend in one of the most remote places in the world, without any difficulty whatsoever.

The quality of long range communications is based upon many variables: the sophistication of the equipment being used; the quality of the local communication lines; the capacity of the exchange that you are working through; and even the atmospheric conditions which are present at the time…all of these work together to determine whether your message will be instant, delayed or not even get to where you want it to go.

After the first surprise at hearing his voice, I was really pleased that we were able to catch up but every now and then throughout the conversation, I had to remind myself about just how amazing it was that we were even able to talk at all.

We live in a time where we just take so many things for granted and we never give them a second thought: We expect communications to be available and instant; we expect wi-fi; we anticipate at least 30 channels when we turn on the TV (even if 15 of them are shopping infomercials!): and we expect to be able to order a caramel Macchiato whenever we feel like one.

There is an old saying that “Absence makes the heart grow fonder” and the corollary is also true. Having things always available stops us appreciating them.

Hearing from my mate made me stop and think about another communication line that I often take for granted – it is the open door of prayer that is waiting for us every day. Some days the reception is not so clear or a little delayed but I have worked out that the problem is always on my end. When I follow the simple instructions the delay disappears and real communications can start. So how’s your reception?

“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you” James 4:8

Leave a Reply

