Fake Christmas Message…

I was trying to call a mate a few days ago and I thought I had got through to him but I hadn’t:

He answered the phone with “Andrew speaking”

So I launched straight in asking how he was and what was he up to. He replied, “How are you?” so I told him and then… after about 15 seconds, he said, “I’m not here at the moment, please leave a message”.

So I had fallen for the ‘fake message’ trick and I was a little disappointed in myself.

Over the years I have fallen for a few ‘fake’ things which have come my way: As a child I distinctly remember trying to bite into a piece of plastic fruit from the fruit bowl where I was staying; I also remember the second car I ever bought, when I came to wash it I found that a very large section of the rear panel was actually made of filler and not metal as I had originally thought; and… just recently, I drove past Asquith golf course and was surprised to see a small boat with someone fishing in the middle of the water hazard on hole #4, it wasn’t until the following day that I realised it was just a dummy in a boat – or maybe I was the dummy driving past!

Christmas can be a time filled with ‘fake’ things: we can have ‘fake’ snow on our windows; ‘fake’ reindeer in our gardens; and ‘fake’ trees in our lounge rooms. Unfortunately we can also have ‘fake’ sentiments coming out of our mouths and ‘fake’ joy being displayed in our demeanour.

This year I hope you are able to get past the ‘fake’ aspects of how we celebrate Christmas and uncover the true centre of it all.

I hope you have incredible joy, fun and celebration this year. I hope those you love are near and you are able to demonstrate how much you care for them but I also hope that you remember Christ and the fact that He was given to you as the greatest gift at Christmas.

I hope that you are not satisfied with the ‘fake’ but press on to find that which is ‘real’.

“When they saw the star, they were overjoyed. On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh.”  Matthew 2

I hope you have a ‘real’ and blessed Christmas this year!

Leave a Reply

