No seats left!

Not a single one left and it was only 6:45am… My wife and I are enjoying the last couple of days of our holiday at a very nice resort on the Gold Coast. The weather is living up to expectations and we are enjoying using all the facilities and whilst the resort team are managing the substantial crowds well… there is one problem we have encountered.

The resort pool caters for about 150 sun lounges but we have not been able to ‘claim’ a couple during the time we have been here. Whenever we want to have a swim, read or have a refreshment by the pool… all of the lounges have been taken.

People have placed their towel, book or some other possession on ‘their longue’ and there are no options left. The frustrating thing is that often these people are nowhere to be seen and they are not even in sight of the pool – they have a prime seat but they are doing nothing with it!

This morning I was determined to make an attempt to claim a couple of lounges – I went for my run at 6am and then headed straight for the pool…to my surprise every longue had already been claimed! I wonder how early the others had to get up? I have images of people camping out before the dawn making sure that their spot is assured. As I have said, I wouldn’t mind if they actually spent some time sitting on them!

As I get ready to head back to work and normal life next week it made me think about the various ‘seats’ I have in my life… my work – my family – my church – my friendships and relationships.

I don’t want to make the great ‘longue chair’ mistake as I walk into 2015. That is when you fail to make the most of the opportunities that you have and you get busy doing other things. You take for granted the wonderful position you have and you get distracted and because of this, others miss out.

They may be some big challenges ahead in the ‘seats’ in your life; you may even feel a little overwhelmed and maybe a little discouraged but remember that you always have the option of assistance if you are willing to ask for it!

“Be strong and of good courage, and do it; do not fear nor be dismayed, for the LORD God—my God—will be with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you, until you have finished all the work…”                            1 Chronicles 28:20

Leave a Reply

