Double booked…

It doesn’t happen very often but when it does it can be quite difficult. This week I was faced with the challenge of having two appointments at the same time – both were important, both couldn’t be rearranged and both were events I wanted to attend.

Sometimes clashing appointments are great because it gets you out of something that you didn’t really want to do… ‘having’ to miss a dentist appointment because you ‘have’ to go to a meeting at work or; ‘having’ to miss distant cousin’s birthday because you ‘have’ to catch up with friends who are headed for the beach or; ‘having’ to miss an overtime shift because you ‘have’ to use your tickets to the cricket.

Other times you are faced, like I was, with two things that you want to do at once and you are left with the dilemma of choosing one of them. At these times I find myself having to go through a process of elimination and evaluation where I try to work out which one is more important and which one I can afford to miss. I look at whether I can have someone go in my stead or whether I can catch up on what I have missed some other way – but when none of these are possible I have to look at which one is going to have a more lasting effect – which one will make the biggest difference.

As I said, I am glad that it doesn’t happen very often and I am glad that I don’t have to make this choice regularly but I am sure that you face this dilemma just as often as I do.

As I thought about this I remembered that there is a regular appointment that we all are invited to; it is the daily appointment of conversing with the God who brings life to us all (Prayer).

There are many different ways of having the conversation (I don’t think the method you choose is important), there is no particular time set for the appointment (some choose morning, others evening or ???) and there is definitely no particular venue you must use. But even with all that flexibility, it is amazing how often we ‘miss’ this appointment because something else is allowed to get in its way.

When you consider the benefits – the lasting effects – it is possibly the most important appointment you have today.

So whatever you have to do – don’t miss it!

Leave a Reply

