Just to find out…

You could chalk it up to an enquiring mind; perhaps I was too confident in my own ability; it could be youthful exuberance or possibly I was completely foolish – but – I did learn a valuable lesson.

I was about 8 years old and I was home alone after school and I was about to make a milkshake – this was something that I had done hundreds of times before but today I wanted to try something different – I don’t really know why but I remember reaching into the bowl of the blender, taking hold of the blades at the base and, with the other hand, pressing the ‘pulse’ button.

What I thought would happen was that my incredible strength would stop the blades from turning… what actually happened was that my fingers were bounced around by 4 very sharp blades moving at over 600rpm!

After only a 2 second pulse three fingers and a thumb were bleeding and I was one very important lesson smarter!

Over many years I have learned many lessons… drinking a glass of orange juice immediately after a glass of milk is not a great idea; you can’t park a 4 tonne truck in a normal car park between two other cars; buying encyclopedias at the Easter Show is a mistake; and using brown sugar instead of coco makes terrible chocolate crackles!

We all have learned many things through the stages of our lives as we have travelled from childhood through adolescence into adulthood. Hopefully we are better equipped now than when we started! The lessons we have learnt have become a part of who we are and so they have been valuable and that is one of the best opportunities of our lives…

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.”          1 Cor 13:11

So one question remains for each of us – have we learned the most important lesson of all or has it passed us by?

Have we got to know ourselves in the way that the Lord knows us? Or is there more yet to learn?   Just don’t put your hand in a blender!

Leave a Reply

