Licence to ……

The moment I stepped into my office I knew that I was going to have to prioritise or something important was going to be missed.

I had a great holiday but now I was back and the reality immediately set in…hundreds of emails, lots of unopened mail, messages to return, meetings to attend, people I needed to catch up with and questions I needed to answer.

But you can’t do everything at once and so I had to start with those ones that ‘should’ be done today and then from this shorter list I had to limit it further to the ones that ‘had’ to be done. Surprisingly, this list was only 3 items long and one of them was renewing my driving licence. This is a task which comes around every five years and whilst it is not difficult, there is a form which has to be filled in and requirements which have to be met. These requirements include having a current unrestricted licence (ie: you haven’t lost too many points), no outstanding parking fines, no illnesses or medical conditions which would impair your driving, the passing of an eye test and the payment of the appropriate fee. If I fulfill all of these requirements then I will walk out allowed to drive until 2020…

Imagine if you needed a licence for everything you do in your life… what would the requirements be?

If you needed a ‘licence to cook’ – how bad could you be before you would lose it? If you had to have a ‘licence to sing’ would you pass or would you be forced into hanging around illegal karaoke clubs? What about a ‘licence to breed’ a test to ascertain your fitness for being a parent? How about a ‘licence to teen’ or a ‘licence to update your status’ what requirements or limits would you wish for?

I am glad that I don’t have to renew a hundred licences each year but some aspects of my life deserve to be scrutinized even though it is not mandatory: the way I treat others; the impact I am leaving upon the world; the honesty and openness I display; and the way I respond to the One who made me and called me to His purpose.

“He has shown you what is good; And what does the LORD require of you… but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God?” Micah 6:8

So the question is…would I pass that test?

Leave a Reply

