It is the dents which define you…

I was relocating a piece of wood working equipment the other day and I was waiting for the truck to arrive. While I was waiting I thought about the fact that I have had it for a long time and it was beginning to look its age.

I thought of all the items I had built using this equipment and as I looked closely I could see different coloured paint scrapings and small dents which spoke of years of faithful service.

There is one dent in my machine from the time that a shelf collapsed and left its mark, there are a couple of broken parts (superficial) from moving from house to house – but it is still perfectly functional and the dents and the scratches give it more and more character.

I guess I could upgrade to a newer model but what is the point? It does its job and it would take years to make the new one look like the old one, which I am kind of proud of in a strange way.

As I was still waiting for the truck a thought crossed my mind…my life has a few dents and scratches of its own. The many years of experiences, challenges, mistakes, joys, fun, life experience and obstacles have left permanent marks and scuffs which now define who I am and what I am aware of or capable of doing.

Your life has marks and little dents as well, none of us are immune to the dealings of time, the challenges of relationships or the need for growth and development. We start out one way but we often end up with a different shape or form than we initially intended.

I have found that my life is constantly being moulded, not just by my haphazard experiences but also by the hand of the Lord who is working through my circumstances to make me who I am destined to be.

My question is how have you responded to the ‘moulding’ that has taken place in your life? Are you disappointed by the dents or are they scars that you are happy to have? Have you ever considered the fact that the Lord has been working within you even though you may not have been aware of it? Perhaps He has more work that He would like to do – the question is are you open to it?

“…can I not do with you as this potter?” says the LORD. “Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand…” Jeremiah 18:6

Leave a Reply

