The light we need…

I was doing a bit of work changing the position of a wall in my house and I had to do some planning around how things were going to work when everything was completed…usually I am pretty good at this sort of stuff but right at the end of the job I realised that I had missed something. One of the tasks before we could move this wall was to have the electrical work moved and reconfigured. I drew up the detailed plan and emailed to the electrician, he came to the site, suggested a couple of improvements and then got to work. It was not until all the walls were up, all the painting was done and I went to turn on the outside lights that I realised that the light switch was now hidden away somewhere in the wall cavity.

I had two choices in front of me – it could be fixed or I could live without the lights outside – the fix would cost me time, effort and money or I could live in the dark and the 4 lights outside could sit there doing nothing for the whole time I live in this house…but why would I satisfy myself with that?

The best answer is to call back the electrician, find the wiring and make whatever changes have to be made to get things working again.

Then we can have all the light we need.

 

Jesus told a parable regarding seed and thorns… He used the seed as an image for His message of light and life and the thorns as a sign of the cares of the world that cover and constrict that message, leaving us in the dark.

The fact is that you may have had light in the past, you may have even had a close relationship with God but the difficulties and challenges of this life may have hidden the ‘light switch’ and you now find yourself just a little darker or colder than you would like.

As our lives move forward we find many things which ‘get in the way’ of our simplicity and our brightness. We need to be careful that we are not satisfying ourselves with material things and spectacular sophistications which leave us cold and without light in a world that desperately needs it.

“Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” John 8:12

Leave a Reply

