In front of your eyes…

It was large, yellow, smiling and filling at least half of the viewing angle of the windshield… it was a “Minion” doll from “Despicable Me” and it was hanging from the rear view mirror of the car that was next to me in the traffic.

I spend hours in peak hour traffic and over time you develop little patterns of behaviour to help pass the time. One of mine is observing what people have hanging from their rear view mirrors and it is often quite surprising.

Over a couple of years I have seen many different things. I have seen lots of fluffy toys, conference lanyards, rosary beads and car air-fresheners.   I have seen makeup holders, sunglasses, remembrance photos and even a small Buddhist shrine. I once saw a pirate eye patch, a pair of lace underwear and of course, the quintessential ‘fluffy dice’.

I have often asked the question “Why?”

“Why do people have that hanging in their car?” Obviously for some it is a practical response…they want to know where they left their ID card or it is the most logical place for the air freshener to impact the whole car. For others it is an opportunity to display a gift that has been given – demonstrating to the giver of the gift that they (and their gift) are important to the recipient. Other see them as a ‘lucky charm’ or a talisman against accident or misfortune. Still others use it as an opportunity to brighten up their vehicle and to give it a ‘personal touch’. I am also sure that there are a number of people who don’t even have a reason but it just seemed like a good idea at the time.

As I thought about my friend in the car next to mine with the minion doll smiling inanely at her, I wondered what I should have as a reminder hanging in my car? What is the most significant thing or useful remembrance that would help me along my journey each day?

If I had to choose one thing to encourage and lift my spirits as I face the challenges of the day what would it be?

It would be something that reminded me of all that the Lord Jesus did for me by giving His life in my place…something that reminds me that I am loved with an everlasting love that has no comparison.    How about you?

“For Your loving-kindness is before my eyes,   I will walk (or drive) in Your truth.”

Psalms 26:3

Leave a Reply

