Much more to learn…

My son sent me an email this morning asking me to print some pages of uni work for him because our printer at home is out of ink. It was an easy request but as I looked over the 20 pages or so of integral calculus I had to admit it was as if I was looking at ancient hieroglyphics!

In my memory, (which is becoming more like ancient history) I recall that I was good at maths but as I quickly skimmed through these pages there was very little that I could comprehend.

There is nothing in my job that needs advanced mathematics – I need to be able to add, subtract, multiply and divide. Understanding fractions and percentages helps, as does being able to balance a budget. To be honest I eat ‘pie’ far more than I use ‘π’.

My son is looking at a career where this type of mathematics is a daily exercise, he looks at these pages and takes it all in, it has meaning and application for him.

We all have different jobs and we all have different expertise – it would be a very boring world where everyone knew everything about everything – conversations would be stifled and the desire to learn and grow would be forever quashed.

Knowing that there are so many things I am yet to know is one of the things which makes my life interesting and an ongoing adventure.

Even in areas that I know a far deal about, it is amazing how much more there is to learn. I have been a musician for 35 years and a woodworker for 30 years and yet in both of these disciplines I know that I have only scratched the surface and that there is more that I don’t know than I do know.

Sometimes we forget that there is more to learn, we become a bit arrogant and self satisfied with where we find ourselves. The truth is that you may be an ‘expert’ in your particular field – there may not be another person in Australia with your education, experience or knowledge and yet, you probably still have more to learn.

Much of my life has been focused on the exploration, encounter and education of the reality and nature of God and after 38 years I feel like I have only touched the ‘edges of His ways’.

I know that there is much more yet to learn …how about you?

“Let us know, Let us pursue the knowledge of the LORD.”                                       Hosea 6:3

Leave a Reply

