How long and how much?

“So how long do you think it is going to take?”

I asked this question, because I was paying him by the hour, actually, I was paying him by the 10 minutes… $165 call out including the first 30 mins and then $25 per 10 minutes or part thereof. I had watched this technician (from a respectful distance) take the oven out of the wall, take the covers off, scratch his head and then make several calls asking for information about what he was looking at…and the time kept ticking.

At the $165 point I asked him how things were tracking and he told me that he thought the model number was wrong and ‘they’ are just finalising what the problem actually is… at the $240 point I asked again and he told me that he would be able to ‘fix it’ but it would cost between $500-$700.   At the $315 point, he took another phone call and it was clear that he was quickly packing up, preparing to leave. I asked him what was happening and he said that the manufacturer is going to send someone else out to fix it… I only had one other question and that was “How much is that going to cost?”

He told me that because he couldn’t fix the job there would be no-cost for today but I would have to pay the manufacturer when they came… He also told me that this was the first time that he had ever worked on this particular machine!

So I haven’t spent any money yet – but my oven is still not working – hopefully when the manufacturer returns we will be more successful. What I need is someone who knows my machine, understands the faults, has access to the replacement parts and has the skill to deal with the problem first hand. My previous technician obviously had little or none of these skills.

Most of my life works, most of the time – but when things get ‘out of order’ or one aspect ‘breaks down’ I, like everyone else need some assistance – but who do you turn to?

I am glad that I have found a ‘life technician’ who has me covered when I need assistance: He knows me and my faults; He has access to what I need to make me complete and functional; and He has the skill and experience to assist me – Why? Because He has faced everything that I have and more…Maybe you should give him a call…

“For we have a High Priest who can sympathize with our weaknesses…in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.” Heb 4:15

Leave a Reply

