Change of contract..

I was dealing some legal issues this week regarding an organisation that I oversee. We are transitioning from one legal entity to another and so everything has to be re-written and transferred across. One of the many tasks that were on my list was the re-issuing of contracts to the various people who are employed by us. It is only a simple change really, but it has taken quite a bit of time to work it out. The only thing that had to change was the name of the organisation that employs them but, of course, it is not that simple.

Firstly, I had to engage the lawyers (to write the draft contract), then I had to run it by the Board of Directors, then I had to prepare the contracts with the various idiosyncrasies of the individuals involved, then I had to discuss the contract with each individual, then I had to negotiate with a couple of them who wanted to make adjustments and changes, then the final contracts were agreed on, signed and actioned… simple!

Contracts are agreements between at least two parties, which spell out the understood parameters of the relationship. In changing from one contract to another I was informed that the new contract must not remove any benefits or conditions from the employee but could add benefits or improve the conditions under which they work. So I had to make certain that my employees were ‘better off’ under the new system. This is not always the case, an often people are faced with a change of working conditions or a limiting of their income or benefits – at that point they are left with a difficult choice to continue in that employment or to look elsewhere.

I don’t know what contracts you are party to in your life…perhaps work, a mortgage, a marriage or a partnership. This week gave me an opportunity to pause and think about the most important ‘change of contract’ I have ever been involved in.

From birth, I was in charge of my own life. I was free to make my own decisions, to go where I wanted and to do what I pleased but the result was not satisfaction but emptiness and longing. It was not until I exchanged contracts and allowed Jesus to be in control of my life that I found the peace and joy I was looking for.

Perhaps it is time to renegotiate?

You will be better off I guarantee!

“For you are not your own, you have been bought with a price…” 1 Cor 6:19

Leave a Reply

