That shouldn’t bounce…

Balls and children on trampolines are meant to ‘bounce’ but credit cards are not!

I was processing some payments yesterday and I happened to be putting through a transaction for a close friend – they had sent through their credit card details and I had keyed them into the machine but instead of the usual happy bleep what states the payment had gone through, I received the disappointing sound of denial and a big red cross on the screen which stated that the credit card had been rejected… so I tried again (just in case I had keyed the number incorrectly) but the same disappointing sound was heard.

So then I had to make the phone call…

There is always embarrassment attached to having a payment denied – I know this because it has happened to me. Sometimes I have tried to take money out of the wrong account, sometimes I have overlooked a payment that automatically drained my funds, sometimes I have got behind on my bills – just like most of us…

If you are independently wealthy and have never faced this challenge then you might not relate to what I am talking about. You could always give all your money away to find out?

Christmas is a time of celebration and joy but it is also often a time of stress and excess. Often people find themselves racking up large debts and overdue bills in the name of the ‘silly season’ – I am not trying to curtail your fun, in fact I am all for a celebration about anything!

I am just suggesting that we don’t get into a place where credit cards are bouncing and our hearts are sinking… Let’s not miss the ‘real’ behind the tinsel and the ‘substance’ behind the decoration.

I had a bit of a laugh with my friend about their denied credit card – it happened that they forgot to transfer money on it – it processed immediately with no issue, problem solved.

I hope that every challenge you have to face this Christmas season will be resolved as easily but if not, remember what Christmas really stands for.

So whatever is bouncing when it shouldn’t, remember Christmas is the ultimate opportunity for hope, joy and love!

“Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Saviour, who is Christ the Lord.”     Luke 2:10

Leave a Reply

